Super Cup

An Overview of the Oman Super Cup

The Super Cup is the curtain-raiser to every football season. It pairs the previous season’s League champions against the Cup winners. It was first held in 1999 and has been interrupted for three years only. In the first edition, the champions of the Super Cup were Dhofar Club. It was the first time this club scores the victory in spite of qualifying twice for the finals. Later on, Al-Orouba SC dominated the championships, and won for three years in 2000, 2002 and 2003, while Al-Seeb Club won in 2001. Subsequently, Muscat SC broke the dominance of Al-Orouba and they won the championship for two consecutive years in 2004 and 2005, when the championship was interrupted for three years then was resumed in 2008 at the hands of Al-Orouba, its biggest winner. In 2009, the Super Cup witnessed a new champion, Al-Nahda SC that won from its first time participating in the championship. Saham Club then won the 2010 edition while Al-Orouba won again in 2011 for the last time, before ceding the place to Fanja SC in 2012 and 2013 and to Al-Nahda in 2014. The victory of the championship went then to Al-Suwaiq in 2015 while Saham Club was crowned in its final edition.

Our Partners

Main Sponsor